News and Highlights
- Recent changes in the Florida Mental Health Continuing Education Requirements!.. details »
- US NRC Substance Abuse Expert Credentialing! Available Now!.. details »
- Which licensed professionals are eligible for DOT SAP qualification?.. details »
- Newsletters announce sales and special offers.. details »
- New!! Supervision Modules available.. details »
- Ethics and Boundary Issues: Choices for required coursework!.. details »
- Addiction Professional Specialty Training Track .. details »
- US DOT SAP Renewal Training Available .. details »
- CE Broker Overview! The system made Simple and easy to understand!.. details »
Recent changes in the Florida Mental Health Continuing Education Requirements!October 17, 2011
Karen A Smith
Florida Psychology Continuing Education Requirements
Each licensee must complete forty (40) hours of continuing psychological education.
Domestic Violence CE is now a 2-hour requirement every third renewal.
Three (3) of the forty (40) hours must be on professional ethics (2 CE) and Florida statutes and rules (1 CE) affecting the practice of psychology.
Two (2) of the forty (40 hours must relate to prevention of medical errors, including a study of root-cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, and patient safety. If the course is offered by a facility licensed pursuant to chapter 395 for its employees, the Board will approve up to one (1) hour of the two (2) hour course to be specifically related to error reduction and prevention methods used in that facility.
Initial License Candidates: Passage of the laws and rules examination of the Board constitutes forty (40) hours of continuing education credit, including credit for professional ethics and Florida Statutes and rules affecting the practice of psychology.
Passage of the laws and rules examination, however, does not satisfy the requirement for one (1) credit of continuing education on domestic violence, nor the requirement for two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors.
School Psychology Continuing Education Requirements
Every applicant for licensure renewal shall complete thirty (30) hours of continuing education credit.
Two (2) of the thirty (30) hours, must be on the prevention of medical errors consistent with Section 456.013, F.S
The licensee shall retain for four (4) years certificates of attendance or other records to document the completion of the continuing education requirement.
Domestic Violence is not required for initial licensure. However, it is mandated by statute that two-hour (2) Domestic Violence course must be completed for every third (3rd) biennial license renewal.
Social Work, Mental Health, Marriage and Family Continuing Education Requirements
For Initial Licensure
Licensee candidates are required to submit proof of completion of:
Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors prior to licensure
Eight (8) hour laws and rules course upon initial licensure prior to licensure
Three (3) hour course on HIV/AIDS within six months of licensure
Two (2) hour course on domestic violence with six months of licensure
Licensees must complete 30 hours of approved continuing education (CE) within the two year licensure period (biennium) to include the following:
Two (2) hour course relating to prevention of medical errors.
Three (3) hour course in ethics and boundary issues.
Two (2) hours of CE on domestic violence must be completed every third biennial licensure renewal
These hours shall be part of the 30 hours otherwise required for each biennial licensure r